Beginning Yoga Poses - Core Focus Wellness

Various Yoga Poses

Poses / April 19, 2018

Warrior 1 PoseThe word Chakra comes from Sanskrit — and means vortex, spinning wheel or circle. Chakras are the major centres of spiritual power in the human body and are circles of energy which balance, store and distribute the energies of life all through our physical body along the subtle body. The subtle body is the non-physical — otherwise known as our soul or spirit, which overlays our physical body.

There are seven main centers of energy, located on the midline of the body, and they govern our psychological properties. They can have various levels of activity. When they’re “open, ” they’re considered operative in a normal fashion. Ideally, all chakras would contribute to our being. Our instincts would work together with our feelings and thinking. However, this is usually not the case. Some chakras are not open enough (being under-active), and to compensate, other chakras are over-active.

The ideal state is where the chakras are balanced. So… how to do it?

Essential Practice

Yoga poses are the essential practice to maintaining balance physically, mentally, and spiritually. The asanas (yoga postures) are used to channel, direct and activate energy throughout the body. When Kundalani yoga is used to clear your chakras, the poses help to release the energy through each yoga movements.

Combining Chakras

Chakras are used in combination with each other, which means none of them stand alone. They are all related to each other. There is no way that you can demonstrate one of the seven chakras using Kundalini yoga poses without concentrating on the needs of the others. Therefore, it is important to learn about all seven of them.Bound Angle Pose The seven chakras are namely:

  • First, second and third – Lower Triangle – handles the elimination process
  • Fifth, sixth and seventh – Upper Triangle – places emphasis on accumulation

Now, you may be wondering why the fourth was skipped while listing the seven chakras. Glad you asked because this is important! The fourth chakra is the heart (nomen omen) of the whole system and where all other chakras meet. It is the balancing point. Now, let’s get into the details — we’ll start with the first chakra, Muladhara.

First Chakra

Use Warrior I yoga poses to facilitate the first chakra. With this pose, you form a connection with the earth — it gives you a solid foundation in the feet. With this pose, the root chakra, which is found in the pelvic area and bottom of the spine, will provide a great stretch in the hips, releasing any dormant energy. You will receive so many benefits from this pose because it heavily influences the first chakra to provide health to the teeth, bones, health, anus, nails, kidneys and digestive functions.

Boat Pose Camel Pose_1 Fish Pose Child's Pose_1